1. Food
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

2006 James Beard Foundation Awards

Regional Chef Winners & Nominees


Best Chef California

Suzanne Goin

The James Beard Foundation is the most prestigious organizaton in the professional culinary world. Formed in 1986, the James Beard Foundation was created by Julia Child and Peter Kump to preserve the home of James Beard and his legacy as America's father of gastronomy. The annual James Beard Foundation Awards honor the best chefs and restaurant professionals in the industry.

Best Chef: California

  • Suzanne Goin (Winner) - Lucques, West Hollywood
  • Traci Des Jardins - Jardiniére, San Francisco
  • Gerald Hirigoyen - Piperade, San Francisco
  • Roland Passot - La Folie, San Francisco
  • Michael Tusk - Quince, San Francisco

Best Chef: New York City

Best Chef: Mid-Atlantic

  • Fabio Trabocchi (Winner) - Maestro at The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner, McLean, VA
  • Mark Furstenberg - BreadLine, Washington, DC
  • Christopher Lee - Striped Bass, Philadelphia
  • Peter Pastan - Obelisk, Washington, DC
  • Cindy Wolf - Charleston, Baltimore, MD

Best Chef: Midwest

Best Chef: Northeast

  • Jean-Louis Gerin (Winner) - Jean-Louis, Greenwich, CT
  • Clark Frasier & Mark Gaier - Arrows, Ogunquit, ME
  • Michael Leviton - Lumière, West Newton, MA
  • Frank McClelland - L'Espalier, Boston
  • Marc Orfaly - Pigalle, Boston

Best Chef: Northwest/Hawaii

Best Chef: Southeast

Best Chef: Southwest

  • Bradford Thompson(Winner) - Mary Elaines at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Nobuo Fukuda - Sea Saw, Scottsdale, AZ
  • Carlos Guia - Commanders Palace, Las Vegas (CLOSED)
  • Sharon Hage - York Street, Dallas, TX
  • Andrew Weissman - Restaurant Le Rêve, San Antonio, TX

Next Page: Outstanding Chef, Best New Restaurant, & more!

  1. About.com
  2. Food
  3. Gourmet Food
  4. Food TV, Books, & Awards
  5. 2006 James Beard Foundation Awards - Winners and Nominees

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.